Force WHMCS Clients to Read & Accept new Terms & Conditions

Force WHMCS Clients to Read & Accept new Terms & Conditions

Back   Posted on 1 september 2018 / Updated on 10 october 2020
Reading time 1 minute

Agree to Terms and Conditions

Online contracts are an important part of every business that operates on the internet. It may seem obvious, but acceptance must be required not only when customers register but also every time your contract changes.

WHMCS doesn't handle changes to terms and conditions. All it does is requiring customers to click "I have read and agree" checkbox on registration.

If you think that's not a problem, think twice. There's a reason why companies like PayPal notify about changes to user agreement. As a matter of law, users must receive notice of changes to terms before changes become effective. For more detais read starting a hosing business with WHMCS.

Billing Extension allows to handle this aspect by redirecting logged in customers to a page where they can read and accept changes to terms and conditions.

Revisions to Terms and Conditions

First thing first, the module introduces the concept of contract's revisions. In essence when you need to make some changes to your contract, you just need to increase its revisions number.

In practical terms, when you install Billing Extension the revision of your contract starts at 1. The module assumes that all existing customers have accepted it. When you have to make changes, you increase the revision from 1 to 2.

Customers who accepted a revision number that is lesser than current one, are asked to review changes and agree to your new terms and conditions. The module also stores date/time of acceptance.

You can configure this feature from Addons > Billing Extension > Settings > Online Contract. In this section you can specify the URL to your terms and conditions and change revision number.

There's also an option that lets you set how many days customers have to give/deny consent before to changes before they are automatically accepted. We recommend to give at least than 30 days.

We underline that administrators can't accept changes on behalf of customers when they use Login as Client feature. That said, it's normal that you can't see the User Agreement Updates page as administrator.

Comments (0)

Speak Your Mind Cancel Reply